BTEC/Vocational Courses


Apprenticeships and Traineeships

Post – 16 Pathways

What are A-levels?


A-levels are traditional qualifications offered by colleges and 6th forms. They mainly focus on academic subjects are a form of entry into university.

How are they organised?.


You can normally study three or more A-levels over two years.

How are they assessed?


A-levels are usually assessed through examinations, although some subject may require a form of coursework.

What grades do I need to take A-levels?


A-levels normally require at least 5 G.C.S.E’S at grades 9-4. However this will vary across schools and colleges so you will need to check before applying.

What are Apprenticeships?


Apprenticeships are a real job with hands on experience. You earn a real salary and have the opportunity to train whilst you work.

How are they organised?.


An apprentice is required to attend college or a training centre to learn new skills which they are expected to develop through work. An apprenticeship can take between two and six years depending on which one you choose.

How are they assessed?


This differs depending on your chosen course, but you will have continuous assessment throughout your apprenticeship.

What types/levels of apprenticeships are there?


There are 100’s of apprenticeships out there in various sectors. The four main levels of apprenticeships are: Intermediate, Advanced, Higher and Degree.

Entry requirements? This will differ on the course and level you choose. But you must be 16-24 years of age.
What are BTEC’s?


BTEC stand for Business and Technology Educational Council. They are a specialist work related learning qualification. They combine practical learning with subject and theory content.

How are they organised?


There are over 2000 BTEC qualifications over 16 sectors. They are available from Entry – level through to professional qualifications at Level 7.

How are they assessed?


Some BTEC’s are assessed completely through assignments whilst others can include some units which are assessed through set tasks or tests.

What types/levels of BTEC’S are there?


BTEC’s are broken down into three main levels of study: BTEC First’s are available from Entry – level to Level 2.

BTEC Nationals are available from level 3, many of these are regarding highly by universities and further education establishments. A BTEC national qualification can lead onto employment.

BTEC apprenticeships are available at Level 2 – 5 across more than 25 sectors.

Entry requirements?


Entry requirements vary depending on the establishment you choose to go to and the BTEC course you are completing. Some may need you to have up to five G.C.S.E’s at grade 9-5.